BIAC Annual Conference





Online registration is now available - click here to register today or download the brochure and register by mail!  Register today and secure your seat at the 2017 Annual Conference for Professionals in Brain Injury. 


​   Keynote Speaker: Lee Woodruff

​Best selling author, CBS This Morning contributor and wife of brain injury survivor Bob Woodruff will put a face on the serious issue of traumatic brain injury among returning Iraq war veterans,   as well as the millions of Americans living with brain injury.


    Plenary Speaker:  Barry Willer, PhD

Director of Research at the University of Buffalo Concussion Clinic will speak about physiology of concussion, including findings from the recent 5th International Consensus Conference on Concussion in Sport held in Berlin in 2016.


    Lunchtime Speaker: Kate Callahan              

      Singer/Songwriter, Brain Injury Survivor and CT State Troubadour will speak about the influence music has had in her journey following brain injury.

BIAC is pleased to announce its 2017 Annual Conference for Professionals in Brain Injury ​is coming back to the Hartford Hilton on March 17, 2017.  This conference brings together professionals working with people with brain injury and their families, from the field of rehabilitation to state government agencies, to learn more about ground breaking treatment in a variety of areas related to brain injury. The event provides a special opportunity for a variety of stakeholders to present research and analysis aimed at providing a fuller picture of the progress being made towards better diagnosis, treatment and long-term care for those living with brain injury in CT. At this annual event, professionals who serve people with brain injury from all over Connecticut will be able to network and learn from one another. 

​Workshop Topics Include: Applying Behavioral Principles in Neurorehabilitation; Behavioral Interventions; Substance Abuse & Brain Injury; Demystifying the Neuropsychological Evaluation; An Innovative Approach to Return to Activity Following Concussion; and Physical Issues after Brain Injury.

A Must Attend for: APRNs, athletic trainers, CRCs, counselors, coaches, direct care workers, educators, neurologists, nurses, occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech-language pathologists, social workers, state agency personnel and veteran service providers. 

All attendees who are present for the full day of programming will receive a general certificate reflecting six hours of continuing education. All certificates will reflect hours attended.  BIAC submits CEU approval for the following: CRC  (rehabilitation counselors); NASW  (social workers); SLP  (speech language pathologists).  BIAC also submits CME approval through the support of St. Francis Medical Center & Hospital. 

For information on Sponsorships and Exhibits, click here.

BIAC Annual Awards.  The Conference is also BIAC's opportunity to recognize those individuals and organizations demonstrating an outstanding contribution to our organization and to the field of brain injury.  Consider nominating someone you know. 

Check back for more information.